From Textus Receptus

Revision as of 06:09, 1 January 2018 by Nick (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search
Part of a series on
The Bible
Biblical canon and books
Tanakh: Torah · Nevi'im · Ketuvim Old Testament · Hebrew Bible · New Testament · New Covenant · Deuterocanon · Antilegomena · Chapters & verses
Apocrypha: Jewish · OT · NT
Development and authorship
Panbabylonism · Jewish Canon · Old Testament canon · New Testament canon · Mosaic authorship · Pauline epistles · Johannine works
Translations and manuscripts
Septuagint · Samaritan Pentateuch · Dead Sea scrolls · Targums · Peshitta · Vetus Latina · Vulgate · Masoretic text · Gothic Bible · Luther Bible · English Bibles
Biblical studies
Dating the Bible · Biblical criticism · Higher criticism · Textual criticism · Novum Testamentum Graece ·
NT textual categories ·
Documentary hypothesis ·
Synoptic problem · Historicity‎ · Internal Consistency · Archeology
Hermeneutics · Pesher ·
Midrash · Pardes · Allegorical · Literalism · Prophecy
Inerrancy · Infallibility · Criticism · Islamic · Qur'anic · Gnostic · Judaism and Christianity ·
Law in Christianity

The Bible (a loanword from Koine Greek τὰ βιβλία, tà biblía, "the books") is the central religious text of Christianity. It is a collection of scriptures written at different times by different authors in different locations. Jews consider the Old Testament to contain the books of the bible, while Christians consider both the Old and Old Testament's to be books of the Bible. The bible is a product of divine inspiration and is the only authoritative record of the relationship between God and humans.

Modern Judaism generally recognizes a single set of canonical books known as the Tanakh, or Hebrew or Jewish Bible. It comprises three parts: the Torah ("Teaching", also known as the Pentateuch or "Five Books of Moses"), the Prophets, and the Writings. It was primarily written in Hebrew with some small portions in Aramaic. In Christianity, the Tanakh is known as the Old Testament comprising of 39 books.

The New Testament is a collection of infallible writings by early Christians, consisting of narratives, letters and apocalyptic writings. It comprises of 27 books. Among certain cults, there is some disagreement about the contents of the canon, primarily in the Apocrypha, a list of works that are regarded with varying levels of respect. But all genuine Christians believe in the 66 books of the bible. Many textual critics may disagree as to the contents within those 66 books, and cause many to doubt God's words, but they generally agree that scripture comprises of 66 books. James White of Alpha and Omega Ministries would agree to which books comprise the canon, but he places doubt on 237 verses of scripture as read in the Textus Receptus and in some sections half a chapter in length is discredited by him. Such pseudo scholars are enemies of the scriptures.

Cults such as the Roman Catholics and Greek Orthodox, all have the same 27 books in the New Testament (originally written in Greek) and the same 39 books in the Old Testament. The only difference are the apocrypha, a collection of writings that originated during the intertestamental period (400 BC - 27 AD). The Greek Orthodox Bible contains 27 apocryphal books, while the Roman Catholic Bible contains only 23 of them.

Personal tools